top of page


Get Ready for the SCAT with TeachME

What is the SCAT?

The most common form of standardized testing is the School and College Ability Test (SCAT). The SCAT is an above-grade-level entrance exam for academically gifted children.students between grades 2–8 and measures math and verbal reasoning abilities. The exam itself is a timed, two-part test that contains a verbal and quantitative section, each with 55 questions in a multiple-choice format. 

Primary Level (Grade 4)

  • The Primary Level Exam is given to students applying to enter into fourth grade.

  • The Exam lasts for 60 minutes and includes an untimed writing sample/essay.

Upper Level (Grades 9-12)

  • The Upper Level Exam is given to students applying to enter into ninth, tenth, eleventh, or twelfth grade.

  • The Exam lasts for 2 hours and 40 minutes.

Girl at School
bottom of page